Chinese Guide

Welcome to the Mount Holyoke College Chinese Research Guide!

In this section, you will find a variety of resources that can assist you with your research. The resources here are geared to more advanced or native-speaking students and majors that are conducting research for their course assignments. 

Chinese Language(s): A Look Through the Prism of The Great Dictionary of Modern Chinese Dialects

Call Number: PL1547 .K87 2010

Online Access: Mount Holyoke: Link to resource

Chinese for Advanced Learners: Language, Society and Culture

Call Number: PL1065 .P564 2017

Online Access: Mount Holyoke: Link to resource 

Chinese Language Narration: Culture, Cognition, and Emotion

Call Number: PL2415 .C45 2013

Online Access: Mount Holyoke: Link to resource 

Through LITS you have access to several journals to help you with your research. Here is the link to the full list of databases that one can access.  If you need help, please contact a librarian through on the LITS page. The following are particularly helpful for language and culture research topics. 

• MLA International Bibliography

  Literary Criticism Index (1920s - present)

• JSTOR

  JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

• Arts and Humanities Citation Index

  Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection

The following are specific to Chinese language and culture:

• China Academic Journals (CAJ) 中国期刊全文数据库 

  Includes more than 8,710 Chinese academic journals. 

• National Central Library Rare Books & Special Collections Database

  Database available through the National Central Library, Taiwan's national library.

• National Social Sciences Database

  Provides free access to more than 30,000 social science articles from Chinese academic journals.

It is important to cite your sources correctly. This LITS Research Guide gives you all the updated and complete information that you need. 

Check out this page for particular information on citing sources in a foreign language in APA, MLA, and other platforms.