Chinese Guide

Our online language tools

The LCC offers a range of software options to study languages and enhance learning languages. Here are some of the resources:

Mango Languages (multiple languages; create your own account and use online)
Rosetta Stone (multiple languages; create your own account and use online)
Skritter (Chinese and Japanese; create your own account and use online)

More information on the language learning softwares can be found here.

Grammar Links

To better understand grammar, it can be useful to look at real examples of how a particular structure or word is used. A "concordancer" is a tool that lets you search for a particular word, phrase or pattern, pulling out example sentences from a database of texts (which might be news articles, novels, speeches, etc.).

A search engine, like Google, can also be a quick, easy way to investigate questions like "What's the right way to say this?" Limit your results by domain to a country where the language is spoken (e.g., websites that end in ".es" for Spain). The more correct or natural wording will usually generate more search results.

Google Advanced Search
Lets you specify language of results or the country code/domain to search within.
WebCorp
This concordancer searches the whole web for text. You can limit by country or to particular domains (e.g., French news websites).
CorpusEye
Includes searches in Danish, English, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Esperanto, Romanian, Swedish, Icelandic, Faroese.
PolyU Language Bank
Offers concordance searches in several languages, especially Chinese, English and Japanese.
SACODEYL - European Youth Language
Database of European teen talk in English, French, German, Italian, Lithuanian, Romanian, and Spanish, including search, videos of interviews and practice exercises.

Virtual Language Learning Communities

It's important to practice expressing yourself in your new language--saying what you want to say, outside of the shelter of the classroom. Do you like meeting new people? You might enjoy a language/conversation exchange, where you connect with someone (from around the world!) who speaks the language you're learning, and who is trying to learn the language you speak. The websites below can help you find a conversation partner.

If you decide to pursue a language exchange, please be cautious about sharing personal information, to keep your identity and your person safe. While some language exchanges turn into lifelong friendships, others fizzle out after the first meeting, so don't be disappointed if your exchange doesn't last. Be upfront with potential conversation partners about your expectations: How often/how long do you want to meet? How much time will you spend speaking in each language? Do you want your partner to correct your language? Do you want to choose topics or talk about whatever comes up?

The Mixxer
A language exchange website hosted by an educational institution. Find conversation partners, then meet via Skype.

Fun Apps!

Here is a selection of fun apps that you can access online related to Chinese:

Pleco Chinese Dictionary

Pleco Chinese Dictionary is both a dictionary and a learning companion. It contains flashcards to test your writing in-put and a camera feature so that you can search for a character with your phone's camera.

HelloChinese

HelloChinese is an interactive app that teaches beginner Chinese. They have lessons on character, conversation, and Pinyin.

ChineseSkill

ChineseSkill is an app for beginner Mandarin learners. It contains over 500+ lessons, which touches on the four cores of language learning––listening, speaking, writing, and talking.

Useful Websites

CCTV
Chinese television network. Users can access free video lessons and Chinese language learning resources.
Du Chinese
Includes articles and short stories in Chinese ranging in level of difficulty. Each story includes Chinese characters, pinyin, and English translation.
Yoyo Chinese
Utilizes video instruction. Includes free lessons and features a YouTube channel.

Media: Newspapers

Here is a selection of newspapers that you can access online related to Chinese:

China Daily

News with coverage on the economy, science and technology, and local and international politics. The text is published in China and is written in both Chinese and English.
People's Daily

News with coverage on the economy, science and technology, and local and international politics. The text is published in China and is written in both Chinese and English.
The New York Times (Chinese version)

News that was published in The New York Times and then translated into Chinese.

World Journal

Covers news in North America, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and China. The text is published in North America and is written in both Chinese and English.