Ancient Greek & Latin Guide

Welcome to the Mount Holyoke College ancient Greek and Latin Research Guide!

In this section, you will find a variety of resources that can assist you with your research. The resources here are geared to more advanced or native-speaking students and majors that are conducting research for their course assignments. 

Featured E-Reference Books

• Ancient Greek dictionary: this e-dictionary offers a variety of dictionaries that one can browse. 
• Latin dictionary: this Latin e-dictionary offers explanations along with a conjugator and a declension tool. 

Featured Reference Books

• A dictionary of Roman and Greek antiquities: 

               Published in 1890; Edited by Anthoney Rich; OCLC: ocm11501405

               Check it out at MHC Main Library Closed Stacks: 31AER

Through LITS you have access to several journals to help you with your research. Here is the link to the full list of databases that one can access.  If you need help, please contact a librarian through on the LITS page. The following are particularly helpful for language and culture research topics. 

• MLA International Bibliography

  Literary Criticism Index (1920s - present)

• JSTOR

  JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

• Arts and Humanities Citation Index

  Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection

The following are specific to the ancient Greek and Latin language and culture: 

• L'Annee Philologique

A primary periodical index for Classical Studies (has to be accessed through the MHC databases). 

• Brill's New Pauly

A comprehensive encyclopedia of the classical world. 

• The Internet Classics Archive

This contains a list of 441 works of classical literature that are searchable. 

• The Latin Library 

More resources in Latin. 

• The Vergil Project

This website contains resources for people who are interested in research in Vergil. 

• Zenon

A database from the Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut that contains The Archaeological Bibliography of the Rome, Berlin, Athens and Istanbul departments, the Bibliography on the Archaeology of the Iberian Peninsula, and the Bibliography of the Archaeology of Eurasia.

It is important to cite your sources correctly. This LITS Research Guide gives you all the updated and complete information that you need. 

Check out this page for particular information on citing sources in a foreign language in APA, MLA, and other platforms.