The LCC offers a range of software options to study languages and enhance learning languages. Here are some of the resources:
More information on the language learning softwares can be found here
To better understand grammar, it can be useful to look at real examples of how a particular structure or word is used. A "concordancer" is a tool that lets you search for a particular word, phrase or pattern, pulling out example sentences from a database of texts (which might be news articles, novels, speeches, etc.).
A search engine, like Google, can also be a quick, easy way to investigate questions like "What's the right way to say this?" Limit your results by domain to a country where the language is spoken (e.g., websites that end in ".es" for Spain). The more correct or natural wording will usually generate more search results.
It's important to practice expressing yourself in your new language--saying what you want to say, outside of the shelter of the classroom. Do you like meeting new people? You might enjoy a language/conversation exchange, where you connect with someone (from around the world!) who speaks the language you're learning, and who is trying to learn the language you speak. The websites below can help you find a conversation partner.
If you decide to pursue a language exchange, please be cautious about sharing personal information, to keep your identity and your person safe. While some language exchanges turn into lifelong friendships, others fizzle out after the first meeting, so don't be disappointed if your exchange doesn't last. Be upfront with potential conversation partners about your expectations: How often/how long do you want to meet? How much time will you spend speaking in each language? Do you want your partner to correct your language? Do you want to choose topics or talk about whatever comes up?
Here is a selection of fun apps that you can access online related to ancient Greek and Latin.
Ancient Greek:
An open-source tool for students who are interested in learning about ancient Greek. It includes a full copy of Liddell and Scott's Intermediate Greek-English Lexicon that is searchable. It also contains the text of Jeffrey A. Rydberg-Cox's Overview of Greek Syntax.
A helpful app that offers verb conjugation practices through gamified learning mode.
Latin:
An app for learning and practicing Latin that includes resources about grammar, vocabulary, and declension & conjugation tables.
It's a tool that provides extensive drills and memorizations of Latin vocabulary and grammar.
It's an immersive learning tool for Latin students. It has the most comprehensive Latin dictionary, texts along with English translations, and a grammar tester. It also provides flashcards, quizzes, a numeral converter, and Latin quotes.
Here is a selection of media that you can access online related to ancient Greek and Latin.
Ancient Greek:
Alpheios is a powerful browser extension and a mobile app that helps students to read Classical texts (Greek, Latin, Persian, or Arabic) online in their original language. By clicking on the word, one can access the definition and conjugations. One can also later add it to their personal vocabulary list.
Contains an array of Ancient Greek audiobooks resources.
A recorded lecture by Dr. Walter Roberts on the ancient Greek language (Homeric/Attic/New Testament) from the City University of New York. It covers book 1 of the Iliad while explaining all the ancient Greek grammar using Herbert Smyth's Greek Grammar.
The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that can display and search multiple texts including The Iliad, The Odyssey, Theogony, Works and Days, Shield of Herakles, and Homeric Hymns. It contains all the works in the original Greek and includes both the English and German translations (Lattimore's Iliad, James Huddleston's Odyssey, Daryl Hine's translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss).
Latin:
This website offers free courses on beginner and advanced Latin courses using the Assimil method.
This website is entirely in Latin. There is also a Finnish radio podcast and several recent articles on politics, news, and drama all written in Latin. The website is updated weekly! This is a great and fun way to develop your reading comprehension skills.
Website for the study of Latin via Wheelock's Latin. The site combines audio lesson podcasts, web & mobile study tools, and games to provide a comprehensive study of the Latin language.
Here is a selection of podcasts that you can access online related to ancient Greek and Latin.
Ancient Greek:
New episode every month. It touches on archaeology, literature, and philosophy.
New episode every week. This podcast talks about the history of Ancient Greece civilization.
Another history podcast.
Latin:
Vox Romana is a free bi-monthly podcast about all things Roman.
Here's a list of useful online dictionaries for learning ancient Greek and Latin.
Ancient Greek:
Online bilingual Greek-English dictionary that accepts both Greek script and Roman transliterations as input; translations from English to Greek are given in both Greek and Roman alphabets.
This Autenrieth's famous Homeric lexicon is searchable online.
Latin:
Online Latin-English and English-Latin dictionary. This dictionary defines about 15,600 words.
This website cites a long list of excellent Latin resources, including dictionaries. There are also links to the news and weather in Latin.
An Online dictionary for both Latin and Greek.
Online bilingual Latin-English dictionary.
Here are some additional online resources that will deepen your knowledge of ancient Greek and Latin better.
Ancient Greek:
A collection of online Ancient Greek resources.
You can use this chrome add-on to translate a Youtube video's caption into either Greek or Latin.
This is a Youtube channel that has short videos about New Testament in ancient Greek.
This is an elementary Latin course with grammar that is based on Kennedy's Public School Latin Grammar.
This is an online course based on Hansen & Quinn's textbook.
A database of Latin language books that you can read for free
This is a Youtube channel that produces Greek guided translations.
Latin:
A cooking site that contains ancient Roman dishes.
Latin poetry and prose with translation, notes, and vocabulary below each text.
