Welcome to the Mount Holyoke College Hebrew Research Guide!
In this section, you will find a variety of resources that can assist you with your research. The resources here are geared to more advanced or native-speaking students and majors that are conducting research for their course assignments.
Here is the selection of some resources helpful for research in Hebrew.
It allows one to read and explore classical Hebrew literature, including poetry and prose, essays, correspondence, memoirs, and reference works.
It gives free access to and downloads over 50,000 out-of-print and/or out-of-circulation classical Hebrew books produced by American rabbis.
It is a bi-lingual project with Jewish scriptures. It contains both Hebrew and English versions of the Torah, Talmud, interpretations, and texts relating to the Jewish calendar.
Through LITS you have access to several journals to help you with your research. Here is the link to the full list of databases that one can access. If you need help, please contact a librarian through on the LITS page. The following are particularly helpful for language and culture research topics.
Literary Criticism Index (1920s - present)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection
The Bibliography of the Hebrew Book includes detailed descriptions of all Jewish literature printed in Hebrew characters. It includes books, pamphlets, and magazines printed in Hebrew, Yiddish, Ladino, Judeo-Arabic, and other Jewish languages, found in collections in Israel and abroad, starting from the beginning of Hebrew printing (circa 1460) through 1960.
This project was conducted by indexing Haifa University Library. The bibliographic database contains references of approximately -800 900 -1 178 journals, of which about 400 current journals, articles from more than 240 files, and selective articles from daily newspapers. The database also includes references to articles in other languages​​ and on issues related to Israel.
RAMBI – The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies – is a bibliography of academic articles. The topics range from all of the fields of Jewish studies to the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
It is important to cite your sources correctly. This LITS Research Guide gives you all the updated and complete information that you need.
Check out this page for particular information on citing sources in a foreign language in APA, MLA, and other platforms.
