Annals of the American Association of Geographers: "The Annals of the American Association of Geographers[s a bimonthly peer-reviewed academic journal covering geography. The Annals contains original, timely, and innovative articles that advance knowledge in all facets of the discipline. Articles are divided into four major areas: Geographic Methods; Human Geography; Nature and Society; and Physical Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences."

Antipode: "Peer reviewed coverage of radical geography theory and research, particularly that which contributes to politics and practice. The journals ecumenical approach aims to challenge and dominant orthodox views of the world through debate and scholarship." 

Gender, Place, and Culture: "This journal provides a forum for debate in human geography and related disciplines on theoretically-informed research concerned with gender issues. It also seeks to highlight the significance of such research for feminism and women's studies."

Environment and Planning: "An international and interdisciplinary journal that publishes theoretically innovative scholarship that examines the contingent and possible relations between the social and the spatial. Environment and Planning D: Society and Space is one of the journals within the Environment and Planning journal that focuses on society and space."  Environment and Planning D: Society and Space also has an online companion. 

Periodicals are publications that are published in a series such as magazines, academic journals, and newspapers. For example, Time, the Journal of Psychology, and the Chicago Tribune are considered periodicals.  Periodicals are issued at regular intervals i.e. daily, weekly, monthly or periodically hence the name.

Scholarly journals are also called academic, peer-reviewed or refereed journals. These are journals that academics submit articles for other scholars, experts or academics peers in the field to review and comment. These reviewers must agree that the article represents properly conducted original research or writing before it can be published. LITS Tip: these are the sources that you will use for your research paper. 

What to look for:

• abstract (descriptive summary)
• footnotes or bibliographies
• institutions author(s) are from, ex. universities, research institutions, think tanks 
• main point is to report on original research or experimentation

Examples of scholarly journals: 

American Economic Review

Applied Geography

Archives of Sexual Behavior

JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association

Journal of Theoretical Biology

For more information, check out this helpful guide from Cornell University: Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Clicking the Get It button for an article will help you locate the full text.

• Options for online access to item: click direct link
• Print availability: follow the link to search catalog, click "call numbers and availability" for years available.  Please note: humanities journals are located in the library on floor 2 1/2, and the science journals can be found on the Miles-Smith floor, which is the second floor
• No direct access?: click "Request from another library" to have it delivered electronically via interlibrary loan 

Annals of the American Association of Geographers: "is a bimonthly peer-reviewed academic journal covering geography. The Annals contains original, timely, and innovative articles that advance knowledge in all facets of the discipline. Articles are divided into four major areas: Geographic Methods; Human Geography; Nature and Society; and Physical Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences."

Progress in Physical Geography: Earth and Environment: "PPG: Earth and Environment is a peer-reviewed, international journal, encompassing an interdisciplinary approach incorporating the latest developments and debates within Physical Geography and interrelated fields across the Earth, Biological and Ecological System Sciences."

Geo: Geography and Environment: "Geo is a fully open access international journal publishing original articles from across the spectrum of geographical and environmental research."

Bulletin of Geography. Physical Geography Series: "The main aim of the Bulletin of Geography. Physical Geography Series, founded in 2009, is to present scientific findings in physical geography and related subjects. The journal covers the following fields/area: climatology, geomorphology, glaciology, hydrology, soil-science, biogeography and research methods in physical geography, with an emphasis on Poland, Europe, and polar regions."