LibGuides: Resources for Graduate Instructors: Library Resources


Library Research Guides

Getting Started with Mount Holyoke Library Resources

Discover
Discover is a huge, interdisciplinary tool combines many research databases together into one global search. It includes the catalog of all items in our library in addition to multiple article databases including PsycInfo, ERIC and others mentioned below. It's great for exploring a topic or for casting a wide net to find a very obscure item.
Five College Library Catalog
Unlike Discover (above) the catalog contains only the books, videos, etc. our library owns or journals we subscribe to. (Note that it does not include all the individual articles within those journals - only the journal names.) It's a smaller universe for searching and also a quick way to find out whether we have particular items you need. You can search all Five College libraries at once, or just Mount Holyoke's collection. Print books available at the other colleges can be delivered to Mount Holyoke for you to pick up or you can visit the library and check them out with your One Card.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text (PDFs) for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ERIC/Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.