Welcome to the Mount Holyoke College Japanese Research Guide!
In this section, you will find a variety of resources that can assist you with your research. The resources here are geared to more advanced or native-speaking students and majors that are conducting research for their course assignments.
Featured E-Reference Books:
General encyclopedias, language dictionaries -- including Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan.
Primary Sources:
240,000 of 570,000 volumes in full text held by the National Diet Library were published in Japan between 1868 and 1945.
This journal covers a wide variety of topics regarding U.S. and Japan relations from 1930 - 1949.
Historical records about modern Japan-Asia relations.
Through LITS you have access to several journals to help you with your research. Here is the link to the full list of databases that one can access. If you need help, please contact a librarian through on the LITS page. The following are particularly helpful for language and culture research topics.
Literary Criticism Index (1920s - present)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection
The English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly (1900–1940) is the newspaper of record for Japan's engagement with modernization and social and political changes.
Provides a variety of resources, collected and stored by the National Diet Library of Japan.
A database of articles in the past 124 years about Japan.
It is important to cite your sources correctly. This LITS Research Guide gives you all the updated and complete information that you need.
Check out this page for particular information on citing sources in a foreign language in APA, MLA, and other platforms.
