Arabic Guide

Welcome to the Mount Holyoke College Arabic Research Guide!

In this section, you will find a variety of resources that can assist you with your research. The resources here are geared to more advanced or native-speaking students and majors that are conducting research for their course assignments. 

Arabic-English Dictionary

Call Number: PJ6640 .W43 1994

Accession Number: mhc.014852090

Arabic: A Linguistic Introduction

Call Number: PJ6307 .R93 2014

Accession Number: mhc.014075967

Arabic: An Essential Grammar

Call Number: PJ6307 .A384 2007

Accession Number: mhc.004443462

Through LITS you have access to several journals to help you with your research. Here is the link to the full list of databases that one can access.  If you need help, please contact a librarian through on the LITS page. The following are particularly helpful for language and culture research topics. 

• MLA International Bibliography

  Literary Criticism Index (1920s - present)

• JSTOR

  JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

• Arts and Humanities Citation Index

  Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection

The following are specific to Arabic language and culture:

• Arabic Collections Online (ACO)

  Digital library of public domain Arabic language content.

• Arabic Language and Culture

  Archive of Arabic cultural and literary journals.

• Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) 

  Offers free access to the cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. 

It is important to cite your sources correctly. This LITS Research Guide gives you all the updated and complete information that you need. 

Check out this page for particular information on citing sources in a foreign language in APA, MLA, and other platforms.