Mount Holyoke College has a collection of USGS topographic maps (topos) that belong to the Department of Geology and Geography. Ask about these maps in the department office in room 304 in Clapp Labratory. This collection is distinctive in that it is a historic collection containing older editions of many of the same maps making possible comparisons over time.
The University of Massachusetts Amherst has a significant Map Collection on the 2nd floor of the W. E. B. Du Bois Library. This is a non-circulating collection, which means materials can't be checked out, but they can be used at the library. UMass is also a U.S.Geological Survey Depository site and thus maintains and makes available all the USGS products received on the Depository contract. Sheet maps (e.g., U.S. topographic maps) are kept in flat cases in the main Map Collection while folded maps are kept in the Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library (A273 Lederle Graduate Research Center Low Rise). Additional maps are in the Government Documents section in the Du Bois Library. See also Maps and Atlases in the Special Collections and Archives.
Geography Club at UMass: s a UMass registered student organization in which students in the Five College Community who share an interest in geography can meet for field trips, talks, films, social events and other activities.
Amherst College has historical maps in the Frost Map Room and in the Archives and Special Collections, which are both located in the Frost Library. Atlases and CIA Maps are in Reference. You may call Reference (413.542.2373) to inquire what is where or check the online catalog (since most of Amherst College's maps are cataloged). U.S. Topographical Maps (all states...latest only) are in the Frost Map Room. A selection of other map series from the USGS Depository Library Program are kept in the AC/Science Library in Frost.
Smith College has a large map room within Young Library on the lower floor. You can also check out the spatial analysis lab in Sabin Reed Hall, which is located in the Clark Science Center.
Hampshire College has a small map collection. Each map is cataloged and available for circulation. In addition, Hampshire has a CD-ROM version of the topographic maps of Massachusetts. Contact a librarian at the Harold F. Johnson Library for more information.
