Skip to Main Content

BIOL-145WNL Life on the Wing

 

Locate article full text from within a database

 

Get It

Clicking the Get It button for an article will help you locate the full text.

  • If available online: click direct link to go to the full text article online
  • If available in print: double check the years the library owns, find the article in print alphabetically by title (recent journals are in the reading room, older journals are on floor 2)
  • If neither option is available at MHC: click "Request from another library" to have it delivered electronically through inter-library loan.

Determine if an artilce is "peer reviewed" or "scholarly"

Scholarly journals are also called academic, peer-reviewed or refereed journals. These are journals that academics submit articles to for other scholars, experts or academics peers in the field to review and comment. These reviewers must agree that the article represents properly conducted original research or writing before it can be published.

What to look for:

  • abstract (descriptive summary)
  • footnotes or bibliographies
  • institutions author(s) are from, ex. universities, research institutions, think tanks 
  • main point is to report original research or experimentation

Examples of scholarly journals: 

American Economic Review

Applied Geography

Archives of Sexual Behavior

JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association

Journal of Theoretical Biology

For more information, check out this helpful guide from Cornell University: Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Locate full text from the title, author and date information

  1. Search for your article in Discover (if you don't find it there, try Google Scholar)
  2. Use the MHLinks button to locate the full text.

Request Books From Another Five College Library

   Click on request item in the catalog to have an item sent from another Five College Library to MHC.  You will get an email when it arrives, you can pick it up at the MHC circulation desk, and return it there when you are done.

Request Books From Outside the Five Colleges

From Google Books, Wordcat or the library databases, click the  Get It button then select "Request from another library."

Getting Help from Sarah

The library offers a team of specialists to help you with your research.Hi, I'm Sarah Oelker, the specialist for research in Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Neuroscience and Behavior, and Physics.

Contact Info:

Room 421 Williston Library (off the Reading Room)

Email or call (x2095) for help!

After Hours? Request a research appointment via online form

I have a question now

MHC Accessibility Barriers Form