Geography 105: World Regional Geography: Research Databases

Database-a collection of information in electronic format. Most of the library's databases are periodical indexes that help you identify articles published in journals.  We also have databases that provide statistical information. An index is a list of topics mentioned in a book (usually at the end of the book) and a periodical index is used to identify articles in journals, magazines or newspapers in a database. 

Large, multi-topic databases: 

• Discover Supersearch Search most of the library databases and the catalog simultaneously
• Web of Science Covers 5,700 journals in science and over 2,000 in other disciplines
• Google Scholar: books and articles indexed by Google (see preferences to turn on MHLinks button!)

Geography and Environmental Studies focused databases: 

• GIS Bibliography Indexes over 100,000 articles, books, conference presentations/publications and theses on GIS and GIS technology.
• GreenFile Environmental Studies Literature Index (1960s-present)

Other databases to try: 

• AGRICOLA Agriculture/Rural Development Literature Index
• America : History and Life  (1964 - present) Indexes social science and humanities literature (including 2100 journals) on all aspects of US and Canadian culture, history, and current affairs
• Europa World Plus country specific information, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories 

• Digital Himalaya - digital collection, storage, and distribution for multimedia anthropological information from the Himalayan region.

• Geography and Map Reading Room - Library of Congress Geography and Maps Division online digital collection.

• National Geographic Maps

• Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - (University of Texas at Austin) Over 2000 maps, mostly from the US Central Intelligence Agency CIA--not copyrighted.

• The World Factbook - compiled by the US Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Image credit: https://southfieldlibrary.org/librarian-the-original-search-engine/​
Ask a librarian or visit other library guides in subject areas related to your topic.