Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYSEM 110LG: Slang: Community/Power/Language

Books vs articles

Books and articles can provide you with more in depth information about your topic.  Book-length works may be broader in scope, while articles tend to focus more narrowly on a specific aspect of a topic. Aside from being shorter and more focused, articles are also a good source for the most up-to-date information as they are published more frequently than books. Don't let books' length scare you away, though! Sometimes you'll find a book that contains a chapter or two on the topic you're researching and that's all you'll need to read. Using a book's table of contents and/or index can help you target the parts that are most relevant to your research.

Finding books

Finding articles

The library subscribes to many databases that allow you to search for articles.  Here are a couple to start with.

You can find even more databases using the library's Databases A-Z list and subject Research Guides. Keep in mind that you don't have to search multiple databases for every topic you're researching.  Sometimes a Discover search is enough, sometimes it's helpful to consult an additional subject-specific database or two (for example, the MLA International Bibliography and AnthroSource search some publications in the field of Linguistics). Stop when you have enough information on your topic.

Locating print books & periodicals

See LITS Floor map and stack locations page for a Stacks Directory listing the call numbers and other materials that are found on each floor and floor maps that will help you navigate the library building.

If you prefer a more visual guide, these short videos show how to locate books and print periodicals in the main library building:

Reading Call Numbers

  • N - describes the subject area: read in alphabetical order
  • 66 -  describes the topic: read as a whole number
  • B634- describes the author's last name: read in alphabetical order, then the number as a decimal
  • 1999  - date of publication: read in chronological order

Example of call number order:

N66 .B634 1999
NA 9 .A34 2005
NA 20 .G4 2001
NA 100.G411.2001
NA 100 .G47 2008

    MHC Accessibility Barriers Form