Data Sources

Finding and using Biomedical Data

Scientific data is shared in many places. Some makes it into the peer-reviewed articles themselves, or is "Supplemental" data available on the journal's website. Some specialized journals share entire datasets. Some are in repositories for data, which might be at a researcher's institution, might be a shared repository for everyone who works in the same discipline or on the same sort of topic, or a database which sorts and curates data of a particular type across many topics. Keep in mind that human research subjects have a right to privacy of their health information and to information that discloses their identity. This may restrict you to using only data that has already been carefully anonymized, or may require signing data use agreements that will govern how you can use the data.

For help finding data for your work, email researchservices-g@mtholyoke.edu and we'll help you find the appropriate librarian to assist you!

Catalogs and Portals of Biomedical Science data

NIH Data Sharing Repositories
Listings of NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse.
ExPASy
ExPASy is the SIB Bioinformatics Resource Portal which provides access to scientific databases and software tools (i.e., resources) in different areas of life sciences.
European Bioinformatics Institute
The European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI) maintains the world’s most comprehensive range of freely available and up-to-date molecular data resources.
NCBI Guide Database Listing
Lists of all of the National Center for Biotechnology Information's resources.

Neuroscience Data

Collaborative Research in Computational Neuroscience
Data sharing for computational neuroscience.
Connectome Coordination Facility
The Connectome Coordination Facility (CCF) houses and distributes public research data for a series of studies that focus on the connections within the human brain. These are known as Human Connectome Projects.
LONI Image and Data Archive
A secure online resource for sharing, visualizing, and exploring neuroscience data.
Neuroimaging Tools and Resources Collaboratory
Neuroimaging and neuroinformatics information funded by NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research and others.
Neuromorpho.org
NeuroMorpho.Org is a centrally curated inventory of digitally reconstructed neurons associated with peer-reviewed publications.
Neuroscience Information Framework (NIF)
NIF is an initiative of the NIH Blueprint Consortium, and catalogs and surveys the neuroscience resource landscape.
OpenNeuro
A free and open platform for analyzing and sharing neuroimaging data

Molecular Biology Data

BRENDA - The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
Online handbook of enzymes with links to relevant information in other databases.
Brown University Biological Data Guide
An excellent roundup of places to find data for biological projects.
ENTREZ
NCBI's multiple database search for a variety of linked information from genetics, proteomics, genetic disease research, and other areas of bioinformatics and molecular biology, including literature searching.
InterPro
Search for proteins by sequence in FASTA format, by text, or by domain architecture.
MEROPS
Database of peptidase information and information on the proteins that inhibit peptidases. A project of EMBL-European Bioinformatics Institute.
RCSB Protein Data Bank (PDB)
Huge and fast-growing depository of protein information, overseen by a collaboration that provides this information free to all to further research, education, and patient needs.