German Guide

Welcome to the Mount Holyoke College German Research Guide!

In this section, you will find a variety of resources that can assist you with your research. The resources here are geared to more advanced or native-speaking students and majors that are conducting research for their course assignments. 

Featured E-Reference Books.

• Collins German Dictionary: 

This online dictionary provides English-German and German-English translation, conjugation, quiz, and grammar explanations. 

Through LITS you have access to several journals to help you with your research. Here is the link to the full list of databases that one can access.  If you need help, please contact a librarian through on the LITS page. The following are particularly helpful for language and culture research topics. 

• MLA International Bibliography

  Literary Criticism Index (1920s - present)

• JSTOR

  JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

• Arts and Humanities Citation Index

  Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection

The following are specific to the German language and culture:

• F.A.Z.-Bibliotheksportal: 

The F.A.Z.-Bibliotheksportal database contains works and archives of history of recent time periods in three sections: F.A.Z. -BiblioNet, F.A.Z. 49 - 91, and Frankfurter Rundschau. F.A.Z.-BiblioNet provides articles from Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung since 1993 and Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung beginning in 1995. F.A.Z. 49-92 provides articles from Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung from 1949-1992 and Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung from 1990-1992. Finally, Frankfurter Rundschau contains articles from Frankfurter Rundschau since 1995.

• Germanistik Online: 

Germanistik is the leading international publication covering German Language and Literary Studies, and it is s now available as an online database. It contains approximately 350,000 digital monographic studies, collected volumes and journals from the areas of literature, theatre studies, media studies, cultural history, and linguistics. 

It is important to cite your sources correctly. This LITS Research Guide gives you all the updated and complete information that you need. 

Check out this page for particular information on citing sources in a foreign language in APA, MLA, and other platforms.