Welcome to the Mount Holyoke College Italian Research Guide!
In this section, you will find a variety of resources that can assist you with your research. The resources here are geared to more advanced or native-speaking students and majors that are conducting research for their course assignments.
Featured E-Reference Books
Collins Italian Dictionary: this e-dictionary offers a dictionary, conjugation, grammar, translator, and so much more.
Featured Reference Books
Compact Oxford Italian dictionary:
Published in 2013; Edited by Pat Bulhosen, Francesca Logi, and Loredana Riu; ISBN: 9780199663132
Check it out at MHC Main Library: PC1640.C66 2013
Through LITS you have access to several journals to help you with your research. Here is the link to the full list of databases that one can access. If you need help, please contact a librarian through on the LITS page. The following are particularly helpful for language and culture research topics.
Literary Criticism Index (1920s - present)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection
Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
A digital library that includes texts from the Middle Ages to the 20th Century.
Union of e-text copies of signal works for Italian cultural studies.
Online catalog of Italian periodical literature from Italy with articles inside
Online Italian dictionary. Requires users to register but it's free.
Publications 1967 - present. Comprises citations + abstracts from articles published in journals, conference proceedings, collected essays, and published worldwide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, covering the period 300-1500. The geographical area is Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
Huge database with publications pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) with citations for books, journals, and their contents (e.g. articles, reviews, review articles, etc.)
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
The online edition of the Italian encyclopedia Treccani. Since 1929, the encyclopedia includes over a million entries.
Italian verb conjugator
Electronic version of Filippo Baldidnucci’s Vocabolario toscano dell'arte del disegno
Dictionaries and discussion forums for Italian and other modern languages.
It is important to cite your sources correctly. This LITS Research Guide gives you all the updated and complete information that you need.
Check out this page for particular information on citing sources in a foreign language in APA, MLA, and other platforms.
