French Guide

Welcome to the Mount Holyoke College French Research Guide!

In this section, you will find a variety of resources that can assist you with your research. The resources here are geared to more advanced or native-speaking students and majors that are conducting research for their course assignments. 

Featured E-Reference Books

     Collins French Dictionary: this e-dictionary offers a dictionary, conjugation, grammar, translator, and so much more. 

     Word Reference French: this e-dictionary also offers a dictionary as well as conjugation help. 

Featured Reference Books

      Harrap's shorter dictionary 

               Published in 2000; Edited by Georges Pilard; ISBN: 0245606602

               Check it out at MHC Main Library: PC2640.H32 2000

Through LITS you have access to several journals to help you with your research. Here is the link to the full list of databases that one can access.  If you need help, please contact a librarian through on the LITS page. The following are particularly helpful for language and culture research topics. 

• MLA International Bibliography

  Literary Criticism Index (1920s - present)

• JSTOR

  JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

• Arts and Humanities Citation Index

  Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection

 

The following are specific to the French language and culture:

• ARTFL

ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources

• Arts and Humanities Citation Index

This website contains bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection.

• CAIRN

French-language journals in the humanities and social sciences

• Classiques Garnier

Classiques Garnier offers digital French and Francophone literature from the middle ages to the 20th century. 

• DICE: Diversite et identite culturelle en Europe

From the Muzeul National al Literaturii Române; articles in French and English.

• Film & Television Literature Index (access through the MHC databases)

The definitive online tool for film and television literature including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, and production.

• Historical Abstracts (access through the MHC databases)

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward.

• LIBRI

A journal of linguistics, literature, and cultural studies; articles in French and English.

• Paroles gelees

French Literature and Francophone Studies journal, articles in French and English.

• Persée

Makes available online runs of referenced, French-language journals in the field of the social and human sciences.

• ProjectMUSE

Project MUSE offers digital humanities and social science content, including electronic journals and 20,000+ ebooks. 

• Synergies Canada

A journal of French Literature and Language, and Francophone Studies; in French.

• RetroNews

RetroNews offers a collection of French press titles published from 1631 to 1950. 

It is important to cite your sources correctly. This LITS Research Guide gives you all the updated and complete information that you need. 

Check out this page for particular information on citing sources in a foreign language in APA, MLA, and other platforms.