Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Korean Guide

Introduction

Welcome to the Mount Holyoke College Korean Research Guide!

In this section, you will find a variety of resources that can assist you with your research. The resources here are geared to more advanced or native-speaking students and majors that are conducting research for their course assignments. 

Core Resources

Some of the resources helpful for Korean Research are:

Featured Reference Books:

ISBN: 1565911083

Publication Date: 2000-07-01

ISBN: 0810843315

Publication Date: 2003-02-25

ISBN: 0810849496

Publication Date: 2004-06-24

ISBN: 0700704639

Publication Date: 1999-09-13

Useful Databases

Through LITS you have access to several journals to help you with your research. Here is the link to the full list of databases that one can access.  If you need help, please contact a librarian through on the LITS page. The following are particularly helpful for language and culture research topics. 

Literary Criticism Index (1920s - present)

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities from 1975-present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection

The following are specific to the Korean language and culture:

Here are the external resources for Korean Research.

It is an integrated digital library that offers integrated search services for historical materials held in a variety of information centers across the country. At the same time, you can browse through a wide database of historical documents, books, and databases.

The Library of Congress provides access to a wide range of databases and electronic resources through E-Resources Online Catalog. This resource guide aims to highlight both free and subscription materials relevant to anyone conducting a study in Asian Studies.

The National Archives of Korea is a government institution in South Korea tasked with preserving government-produced documents and records. It is a treasure of documents.

Citing Sources

It is important to cite your sources correctly. This LITS Research Guide gives you all the updated and complete information that you need. 

Check out this page for particular information on citing sources in a foreign language in APA, MLA, and other platforms.

MHC Accessibility Barriers Form