Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 341: 'Development in Africa: A Critical History'

Journal Articles

Historical Abstracts scholarly articles on world history from 1450 to the present.

JSTOR (Journal Storage) A digital full text archive of backfiles (i.e., NOT current issues) of academic journals.  Searchable by keyword, author, title. Use JSTOR Search screen and click African Studies and/or other collections for your search.

PAIS International (1977-Current) (Public Affairs Information Service) includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world on public policy and foreign policy.  See also PAIS Archive (1915-1976).

Project MUSE humanities and social sciences journals.  Select "Browse Journals" and then "Browse Journals by Discipline" to see African Studies journals. 

Women's Studies International covers women's studies literature with over 2,000 journals in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

Non-MHC Resources:

African Journals Online (AJOL): collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.  Note: some articles are Open Access (meaning free) and others are restricted.  For restricted journals, check if MHC subscribes to the journal with the E-Journal Browser for online journals and the Five Colleges Libraries Catalog for print journals.

African E-Journals and Newspapers on Africa: compiled by Columbia University with links to "free" electronic journals and newspapers of Africa.

MHC Accessibility Barriers Form