The Modern Language Association style is most commonly used in the humanities. The latest version is 9, which came out in April 2021. The guidelines for citing sources in MLA 9 do not differ much from MLA 8, though the new handbook helpfully includes more examples of how to cite different types of materials as well as new sections on grammar, writing advice, using inclusive language, endnotes and footnotes, and annotated bibliographies.
In an MLA style Works Cited list, the first line of each citation should be left justified, but each subsequent line should be indented. This is called a “hanging indent.” Some instructions on how to create a hanging indent in two of the most frequently used word processing programs on campus:
The Chicago Manual of Style is also sometimes used in the humanities. It consists of two documentation systems, notes-bibliography and author-date. Check with your instructor about which system they prefer.
A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers MH Reference LB2369 .T8 2013
MLA style format for citing an article in journal that uses both volume and issue numbers:
Cooney, Brian C. “Considering Robinson Crusoe’s ‘Liberty of Conscience’
in an Age of Terror.” College English, vol. 69, no. 3, Jan. 2007,
MLA style format for citing an article in journal that numbers all the issues in sequence:
Kafka, Ben. "The Demon of Writing: Paperwork, Public Safety, and the
Reign of Terror." Representations, no. 98, 2007, pp. 1-24.
MLA style format for citing a book:
Anderson, Curtis. The Long Tail: Why the Future of Business Is Selling
Less of More. Hyperion, 2006.
An annotated bibliography contains your list of references, properly cited, with additional notes following each reference. When working on a research paper or project, building a bibliography with notes that reflect on how each source could be used for that paper or project can be a very helpful practice.
There are many good sample annotated bibliographies online and explanations of how to build them. A couple of worthwhile examples: