Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 255 City Life in Modern Europe

Primary Source Collections

Periodical Indexes, Newspapers and Journals:

  • Poole'sPlus/Nineteenth Century Masterfile
    A collection of periodical indexes created in the nineteenth century. Includes: Index to the New York Times (1863-1905); Index to Harper's Magazine (1880-1905); Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906); Stead's Index to Periodical Literature (the "British Poole's") (1890-1902); Index to the New York Daily Tribune 1875-1906; Descriptive catalog of the government publications of the U. S. (1774-1881).

Document Collections:

  • Parliamentary Papers   (1801- ) Full text of the complete set of the nineteenth and twentieth century British Parliamentary Papers collection including Hansard Parliamentary Debates. A major source of primary source materials on all aspects of British society and the British Empire.

  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online  British Politics and Society - Full text collections of major British primary source materials including radical newspapers, British Cabinet Papers, Home Office files.

  • Making of the Modern World  Books, journals, pamphlets, essays and more that track the development of the modern western world through the lens of trade and wealth.

Primary Sources in the Library Catalog

Search by keyword for primary sources in the 5 College catalog
You can search the catalog to find direct references to primary source material. Here are some words to include as keywords that would identify a source as primary:

  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • early works
  • interviews
  • manuscripts
  • pamphlets
  • personal narratives
  • sources
  • speeches
  • letters
  • documents

!

What are Primary Sources?

Primary sources provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation. 

  • ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS such as diaries, speeches, letters
  • CREATIVE WORKS such as poetry, music, art 
  • RELICS OR ARTIFACTS such as pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings

What about Science?  In the sciences, a primary source is the published result of experimental or observational research.

MHC Accessibility Barriers Form