Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Images

Biology

Biology Image Galleries  ACADEMICINFO

Birds National Bird Collection (Smithsonian)

Bird of North America - Cornell U., requires free subscription for full access

Entomology Image Gallery Iowa State U.

Plant Facts Ohio State U.

Environment, Geography and Geology

Arkive.org (images of life on earth)

Animal Diversity Web U. Mich.

Earth Science World Image Bank  American Geological Institute

Forestry Images  u.S. Forest Service

Gallery of Images (Smithsonian Institute)

Marine Geology and Geophysics NOAA

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Photo Library

USDA (U.S. Department of Agriculture) Agricultural Research Service Photo Library

USGS (U.S. Geological Survey) Multimedia Gallery

USGS Photographic Library collection of over 400,000 photographs taken during geologic studies of the United States and its territories from 1868 to the present.

General Science Images

Pictures of Science 700 years of Science and Medical Illustration (New York Public Library)

CalPhotos searchable database of plants, animals, fossils, people and landscapes U.C. Berkeley

Electron and Confocal Microscopy Images  US Department of Agriculture, Beltsville, MD

JISC Digital Media by discipline

Nanoworld Image Galleries

Nature & Science Images (New York Public Library)

Optical Illusions

Perseptual Science Illusions and Demos  Edward Adelson, MIT

Springer Science Images

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science Image Gallery

Chemistry

Biochemistry Digital Library ACADEMICINFO

Chemistry Art Gallery U. of Liverpool U. K.

Chemical Structures:

Multimedia Chemistry Resources - including Periodic Tables

Mathematics & Physics

The Math Images Project

 Mathematical Imagery - (American Mathematical Society)

Mathematics Archives - Images & Math

Physics News Graphics American Institute of Physics

Medicine & Health

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Public Health Image Library photographs, illustrations, and multimedia files

Directory of Medical Images (Duke University Medical Center)

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

National Institutes of Health Photo Galleries

U.S. National Science Foundation Multimedia Gallery

Wellcome Images: "historical and contemporary images on themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science"

MHC Accessibility Barriers Form