Skip to main content

Finding Images

History

Ad*Access (Duke University)"presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."

American Memory - from the Library of Congress, provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

British Library Online Gallery over 30,000 items from the British Library's collections.

Life Photo Archive collection of images from Life Magazine's archives, including material dating from the 1750s and onwards, hosted by Google.

Luna Commons educational content from digital collections, such as the Cornell Political Americana CollectionJCB Archive of Early American Images, and the Pratt Institute Fashion Plate Collection.

David Rumsey Collections (Cartography Associates): view maps, fine artwork, photographs and other items from over thirty renowed collections (note: there are both free and subscription based collections"). 

New York Public Library Digital Gallery - "access to over 700,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more."  

Time & Life Photo Archive collection of images from Time magazine and Life magazine, including material dating from the 1750s through the 20th century.

U.S. Smithsonian Institution Digital Library and Galaxy of Images

Women Working, 1800–1930 (Harvard University Library Open Collections Program) digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression

Literature

Digital Dante project of the Institute for Learning Technologies at Columbia University. This site contains images from many artists.

Shakespeare Illustrated (Emory University) "explores nineteenth-century paintings, criticism and productions of Shakespeare's plays and their influences on one another."

Art & Architecture

Arounder Virtual Tours of Cities "360-degree panoramic views of cities and monuments around the world"

Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) with an "emphasis on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture."

Built in America (Library of Congress) Historic American Buildings Survey, Historic American Engineering Record, Historic American Landscapes Survey, 1933-Present

Cities and Buildings Database: collection of digitized images of buildings and ciites drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers, and educators on the web.

Web Gallery of Art virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries

MHC Accessibility Barriers Form