It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources to help you discover basic information—names, dates, definitions, summaries, etc. These are good places to start when narrowing or choosing your topic, and when beginning research on an unfamiliar subject.
Featured Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by William J. Lennarz (Editor); M. Daniel Lane (Editor); Ernesto Carafoli (Editor); Paul Modrich (Editor); Don Cleveland (Editor); Jack Dixon (Editor); John Exton (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004-10-20
Encyclopedia of Immunology by Peter J. Delves (Editor-In-Chief); Ivan M. Roitt (Editor)
Publication Date: 1998-06-30
Encyclopedia of Reproduction by Ernst Knobil (Editor-In-Chief); Jimmy D. Neill (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 1998-10-23
Gray's Anatomy by Peter L. Williams (Editor); Lawrence H. Bannister (Editor)
Publication Date: 1995-12-25
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Growth and Development by Stanley J. Ulijaszek (Editor); Francis E. Johnston (Editor); Michael A. Preece (Editor); James Tanner (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 1998-08-13
Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms by Eleanor Lawrence
Publication Date: 1995-11-09
International Dictionary of Medicine and Biology by Sidney I. Landau (Editor)
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
The Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease by Charles R. Scriver; Arthur L. Beaudet; William S. Sly; David Valle; Barton Childs; Kenneth W. Kinzler; Bert Vogelstein
Publication Date: 2000-12-15
Synopsis and Classification of Living Organism by McGraw-Hill Staff; Sybil P. Parker (Editor)
Search by background information in the library catalog You can search the library catalog to find many more reference sources such as specialized encyclopedias. Perform a keyword search for your topic and add one of the words below.