Dance

Core Resources - Article Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance. Also contains the full text of 170 journals, and more than 360 full-text books.

Core Resources- Video

Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
Jacob's Pillow Dance Stream This link opens in a new window
Jacob’s Pillow Dance Stream is an ever-growing collection of full-length dance videos from the Jacob’s Pillow Archives. Watch historic films of Denishawn Dance Company and Ted Shawn’s Men Dancers; recent performances by top national and international dance companies working in a range of movement styles including contemporary, ballet, tap, and traditional forms; in-depth interviews with artists and experts in the dance field; and more.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy Streaming provides full access to online video from PBS, HBO, the Criterion Collection, and much more. NOTE: MHC provides limited access to films on Kanopy; many public libraries offer broader access

If Cities Could Dance (KQED)
Numeridanse
"Numeridanse is a multimedia dance platform. It offers free access to a unique video base: filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Every single genre, style and form is showcased here: butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, performance, etc."

Core Resources-Archival

Dance Heritage Video Archive
"The collection preserves culturally significant recordings that document global and U.S. dance traditions, creative work by outstanding choreographers and performers, and performances that helped to advance the art form."
Dance Oral History Project
"It is the objective of the Project, existing as it does within the context of the largest library devoted to the art of dance in the world, to address gaps in the documentation of this elusive art form. Audio interviews, which can often be more revealing than edited and published memoirs, bring to life the personalities and forces that shape the course of dance history. The oral histories are created, with an eye toward the Library's existing holdings, as discrete manuscripts to be studied alongside other manuscript materials and documentation of dance in photographs, printed documents and the moving image."
Jacob's Pillow Archives
"The Jacob’s Pillow Archives document the history of Jacob’s Pillow and the artists who have contributed to its legacy, with particular emphasis on Ted Shawn, Ted Shawn’s Men Dancers, and the Denishawn Company.
The collections include audiotapes, board minutes, books, correspondence, costumes, films, photographs, posters, programs, scrapbooks, videos, and more. The Archives is one component of the Pillow’s Preservation Program, which also documents the ongoing activities of the Festival and organizes exhibits exploring various aspects of dance history."
Merce Cunningham Trust
"We preserve the recorded and physical works of Merce Cunningham"