Skip to main content

United States Government Information

Congressional Research Service Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. 

CRS reports are valuable for their in-depth coverage and, according to CRS' mission, "analysis that is authoritative, confidential, objective and nonpartisan" (About CRS).  CRS does not provide public access to its reports (the public must request them from their Member of Congress), but recently some Members and an increasing number of non-profits organizations have posted CRS reports on their websites. 

Find full-text CRS Reports at the following websites:

Every CRSReport.com: a new service that aims to make public all CRS reports that are currently available to members of the US Congress. Older reports may be found at CRSReports.com.

UNT Digital Library / Congressional Research Service Reports: collection from the University of North Texas with the majority of reports from 2000-Present. 

Open CRS: from the Center for Democracy & Technology featuring reports from several organizations including, the IP (Intellectual Property) Mall at Franklin Pierce Law Center, National Council for Science and the Environment, Federation of American Scientists, and the Thurgood Marshall Law Library (University of Maryland School of Law). 

Archive It / CRS Collection: lists numerous other websites with CRS reports, such as the U.S. Department of State and the National Agricultural Law Center.

MHC Resources for CRS Reports:

ProQuest Congressional: provides citations for CRS reports contained in hearings, committee prints, and other congressional publications from 1970-forward, and provides abstracts and indexing for CRS reports issued as official congressional publications.  (Access provided to current MHC students, faculty, and staff).

Springshare's information on Accessibility in Libguides - - MHC Accessibility Barriers Form