United States Government Information

"The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars." (About GAO)

GAO Reports & Testimonies (1970-Current)

GAO Topic Collections
Features reports and testimonies on a number of policy issues, from biofuels to terrorism, presented in a browsable topical

The Cabinet is an advisory body made up of the heads of the 15 executive departments appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. (White House / Executive Branch).  

Cabinet

• Attorney General
• Secretary of Agriculture
• Secretary of Commerce
• Secretary of Defense
• Secretary of Education
• Secretary of Energy
• Secretary of the Interior
• Secretary of Health and Human Services
• Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
• Secretary of Labor
• Secretary of State
• Secretary of the Treasury
• Secretary of Transportation
• Secretary of Veterans Affairs

Departments

• Department of State
• Department of the Treasury 
• Department of Defense 
• Department of Justice 
• Department of the Interior 
• Department of Agriculture 
• Department of Commerce
• Department of Labor 
• Department of Health and Human Services 
• Department of Housing and Urban Development 
• Department of Transportation 
• Department of Energy
• Department of Education
• Department of Veterans Affairs
• Department of Homeland Security

* Note: this is not a comprehensive list of department publications.  Check the U.S. Government Publications Catalog for more publications.

Department of Agriculture

• Census of Agriculture (1840-Current) "Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them" from the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
   
• Agriculture Annual (1994-Current) includes data on "agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns and is intended as a reference for common use."
• State Fact Sheets (includes some historical data) provide information on population, income, education, employment, federal funds, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and exports, for each State from the Economic Research Service (ERS).

Department of Commerce (see Census tab)

Department of Defense view a list of current publications and archived publications.

Department of  Energy search publications by subject, keyword or date range.

Department of Education

• Condition of Education an annual "report that presents indicators of important developments and trends in U.S. education, including participation and persistence in education, student performance and other measures of achievement, the environment for learning, and resources for education."
  
  
• Digest of Education Statistics provides a "compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school."

Department of Health and Human Services 

• Health, United States (1975- Current) from the CDC's National Center for Health Statistics, with more than 150 detailed tables and charts on health status and its determinants (birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status), health care resources, health care utilization, and health insurance and expenditures (national and state).  1975-2007 in print MH Stacks, Call Number: RA407.3 .U57a

Department of Homeland Security

• Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (2004-2010) "compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration law enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and prosecutions."

Department of Housing and Urban Development  publications available through HUD USER on such topics as housing market characteristics, fair housing and regional economic data.

Department of the Interior search by individual agency (full list) includes Fish & Wildlife, Bureau of Land Management, U.S. Geological Survey, and more.

Department of Justice  

• Crime in the United States (1995 - Current) produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.

Department of Labor  

• Occupational Outlook Handbook: "for hundreds of jobs, the OOH, gives the training and educational requirements, earings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions."

Department of State

• Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) "presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. " (U.S. Department of State) Available Online by administration and In Print: 1932-1969/76 [some gaps] MH Stacks, Call Number: JX233 .A3

Department of the Treasury 

• Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Publications includes tax statistics, such as Statistics of Income (SOI) and Business Tax Statistics.
   
•  Agency Financial Report (2004-Current) financial and performance results of federal government programs.

Department of  Transportation search by individual agency (full list) for information on aviation, motor vehicles, railroads, ships, etc.

Department of Veterans Affairs find publications for veterans and data & statistics through the National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (NCVAS).