Skip to main content

United States Government Information

Census

Census

U.S. Census Bureau 


American FactFinder

Historical Census of Population and Housing - Scanned images of the original US Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000. Work in progress by the US Census.  Print copies at Mount Holyoke, Call Number: HA201 FOLIO

United States Historical Census Data Browser - Powerful interactive data tool to examine census figures from 1790-1960, created by the Geostat Center at the University of Virginia Library.

Mapping America: Every City, Every Block (New York Times) browse local data (Race & Ethnicity, Income, Housing and Families, and Education) from the Census Bureau's American Community Survey, based on samples from 2005 to 2009. 

Learn about the Decennial Census


History: Decennial Census
and Measuring America: Decennial Census 1790-2000 contain information on the history of the U.S. Census Bureau and the questionnaires, instructions, and individual histories of each census.  These two sources are important for figuring out if  the data you need was collected before you search the census data (e.g. the U.S. Census Bureau is not the source for information on religion since U.S. Census Bureau does not collect data on religious affiliation in its demographic surveys or decennial census, although, the bureau did conduct  censuses of religious bodies at 10-year intervals from 1906 through 1936).

Agricultural Statistics

Agricultural Statistics annual publication with data on U.S. agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns by the National Agricultural Statistics Service.

Census of Agriculture conducted every five years, "the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States."  Historic census data from 1840-present is also available. 

National Agricultural Statistics Service offers statistical reports on a wide range of topics, including crops, livestock, and industry trends.

U.S. Soil Surveys Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world.

USDA Economic Research Service the main source of economic information and research from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. ERS' program encompasses research, analyses of food and commodity markets, policy studies, and development of economic and statistical indicators.

USDA Economics and Statistics System contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets from the economics agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics.

Economic Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.  Find such data as the Consumer Price Index, Unemployment Rate, and Producer Price Index.

Economic Indicators.gov provides timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau.

FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research provides economic information and data to researchers interested in the U.S. economy with links to scanned images (in Adobe® Acrobat® PDF format) of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.

FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data offers regional and national financial and economic data from 3000 U.S. economic time series.

REIS (Regional Economic Information System) provides local area economic data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas for 1969-1995. Statistics in the data base include: personal income and earning variables, full and part employment variables, transfer payments variables, and farm income and expenses variables.

Statistics of Income Bulletin offers wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.

Statistcs of U.S. Businesses " an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry. SUSB covers most of the country's economic activity."  Historic Data back to 1992 available. 

Survey of Current Business from the Bureau of Economic Analysis, provides the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates and archived issues back to 1934 are available in the Digital Library.

Health Statistics

CDC WONDER provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data, including information on diseases, occupational health, and injury prevention from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

ChildStats: Forum on Child and Family Statistics data on issues related to children and families from 22 federal agencies.

Health, United States (1975- Current) from the CDC's National Center for Health Statistics, with more than 150 detailed tables and charts on health status and its determinants (birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status), health care resources, health care utilization, and health insurance and expenditures (national and state).  1975-2007 in print MH Stacks, Call Number: RA407.3 .U57a

Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, provides information on women and children's health with statistical reports and programs across the U.S.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) principal health statistics agency, which provides statistics, surveys, and research on health topics, and includes vital statistics for the nation and individual states.

Education Statistics

Educational Attainment (Census Bureau) also see American FactFinder for data sets.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and in other countries.

OPE Campus Security Statistics Website database (Office of Postsecondary Education, Department of Education) "provides rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime data."

Quick Links

FedStats provides access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 US Federal Government agencies.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Current)

Historical Statistical Abstract of the United States scanned images (PDF) of historical statistical abstracts back to 1878 from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Print Resource: American Statistics Index (ASI) (1974-1997) "A comprehensive guide and index to the statistical publications of the U.S. Government." Request from Five College Depository or 1973-2008 available at UMass Amherst, Call Number: Z1223 .Z7 A6.

Did You Know?

The United States is the largest source of statistical data with more than 70 agencies authorized to collect and disseminate statistics.

Springshare's information on Accessibility in Libguides - - MHC Accessibility Barriers Form