Skip to main content

United States Government Information

President's Office

President of the United States

Information about the Executive Branch available through the White House website.

Compilation of Presidential Documents, (1993-Current) Contains statements, messages, executive orders, speeches, and other Presidential materials released by the White House Press Office.  Note: President Obama's administration switched from a weekly publication to a daily publication. Older compilations available through the Five College Depository and UMass Amherst.

Economic Report of the President, (1996-Current) and 1947-Current Reports in FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
"An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors."

Executive Orders of the President (National Archives and Records Administration) and find the full text of Executive Orders, 1826-Present, use the drop-down menu to select the year, and note that there are gaps (American Presidency Project).
"Executive orders are official documents, numbered consecutively, through which the President of the United States manages the operations of the Federal Government."  Signed Presidential documents (including executive orders) are published in the Federal Register and compiled in the Code of Federal RegulationsTitle 3 - The President (1996-Present).

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States from 1991-Present (GPO) and 1929 to present (American Presidency Project). Also in print at MHC, browse call number: J 82, 4th floor Williston Library.

State of the Union from 1992-Present (GPO) and 1789-Present (American Presidency Project)

Executive Office of the President

The Presidency

The American Presidency Project: archive containing over 80,000 documents relating to the study of the United States presidency from the University of California, Santa Barbara.  Includes State of the Union and Inaugural Addresses, 1789-Present, Proclaimations since 1789 and Executive Orders since 1826, and official presidential papers, 1789-1913 and 1929 to present (Public Papers of the President).

American President: an Online Reference Resource: collection of materials about the Presidents of the United States, including the new Multimedia Gallery and "Social Change & Soviet Relations 1961-1989" from the Miller Center of Public Affairs.

Presidential Audio/Video from the American Presidency Project: includes radio transcripts, speeches, and much more.

The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commericals 1952-2008 (Museum of the Moving image) contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.

Presidential Elections

Historical Election Results from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

White House Press Office

Loading ...

Did you Know?

There are currently 13 Presidential Libraries and all offer a wealth of historical information on their websites, including online interactive exhibits and facts, such as, "During Frankin D. Roosevelt's presidency, women were appointed to positions that were unprecedented in terms of both number of appointments as well as rank in the United States government" (including MHC's own Frances Perkins).

The National First Ladies' Library offers biographies, current and historical information, and exhibits.   

Springshare's information on Accessibility in Libguides - - MHC Accessibility Barriers Form