Doing an author search on an author's name will find books by that author held in the Five College libraries. You an also try a title search if you know the name of a specific book that you'd like to find. Try a keyword search on a short story or essay title to find it in an anthology or collected work.
Full text of 250,000 poems, primarily in the English language. The World of Poetry also indexes poems in print publications, and includes selected commentaries on individual poems as well as biographies of leading poets. You can search on a poem title, then click on the Poem Information tab of the results screen to find out which books contain that poem.
Searches the library catalog and the majority of our subject-specific databases simultaneously. Looking for a specific short story? Searching the title in Discover will help you find out if it's available in an anthology or collection, or in a magazine.
Search the library catalog only (enter search terms and then limit) or dozens of databases together. A great place to start your research on almost any topic.
The Artstor Digital Library provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. You need to register (free for MHC community members) if you wish to download ArtStor images.
Google's specialized web search for images only. Use carefully. If you find an image that's from the web site of a cultural institution like a museum or library, the information about it is often reliable. However, an image found on Pinterest or someone's blog may not be so accurately cited.
This free database is useful for identifying film titles by a specific director as well as getting additional information (producer, cast, release date, etc.) that may help you borrow or purchase a copy.
If you know the title of a film you'd like to view, do a title search in the library catalog to see if it's in the Five College Libraries. You can also do an author search on a director's name to view all of the films by that director that are available in the Five College Libraries' collections.