Skip to main content

Moodle Quick Help Guide

Removing students from a moodle course after they have dropped

You cannot manually remove students from your Moodle site until after they have dropped the course in MyMountHolyoke. This is to ensure that students have access to course materials while they may be waiting for approval to take a course. If there are students on your waitlist who you are certain will not make it into the course, please encourage them to drop the course in MyMountHolyoke. Please also advise them to do this if they will not take the course and would like to stop getting announcements and notifications from your course site.

Once students have dropped in MyMountHolyoke, they will appear on the enrolled users list as greyed-out with an "X" at the end of their entry, and without any assigned role. They will no longer receive Quickmail, forum notifications, or announcements from your Moodle site. They will still appear in Users > Enrolled users in your Administration panel, but not in Participants in your Navigation panel. You do not need to remove them from your list of enrolled users, but if you would prefer to, here is how to remove them. 

1. In the Administration panel on the left of your Moodle site, click the down arrow next to "Users". 

2. Click "Enrolled users". You'll see that the students who have dropped are greyed out. 

3. Click the X in their row under the "Enrollment methods column". 

Please contact us for assistance if you have a large roster and would like help removing all the waitlist students. 

Want more help?

For any time, 24/7 help on your own:

For help Monday-Friday 9-5:

Springshare's information on Accessibility in Libguides - - MHC Accessibility Barriers Form