Skip to main content

Moodle Quick Help Guide

Manual Upload Settings in Google Drive

Manual upload is when you select files and folders to upload into Google Drive, which is different than the automatic syncing that happens when you use Google Drive for your Mac/PC. All manually uploaded files will show in My Drive.
 

Set your manual upload preferences:

Setting your manual upload preferences makes it easier for you to have consistency when you're uploading files or folders. Every time you upload a file or folder, these preferences will be applied.
  1. Go to drive.google.com.
  2. Click on the Settings icon Settings icon and, in the drop-down menu that appears, click on "Settings."
  3. In the Settings window that opens, the "Convert uploads" section gives you an option to "Convert uploaded files to Google Docs editor format."
  • If you leave this unchecked (the default), all files you upload will remain in their original file formats and will appear as view-only in Google Drive.
  • If you check this, all files that you upload that have a Google Docs format equivalent - (e.g., documents, spreadsheets, and drawings) - will be converted from their existing format into their corresponding Google Docs format. The advantage of this is that they'll then be editable online.
   4.  Click on Done to complete the changes.
These settings will apply to all future uploads, but you may change your settings at any time by going back into the Settings menu.
 
Sharing settings:

The default visibility setting for uploaded files and folders is "Private". This is true even for Google Apps domains that may have selected a different default visibility setting.

If you’d like to change the visibility setting or share this file or folder with other people, you have a couple of options in Google Drive:
  1. In the box indicating the progress of your upload, you’ll see a Share link next to each file name. Click this link to access the file's "Share with others" settings. There you can use the "People" box to enter email addresses of the people you'd like to share with, or you can click on the Advanced link to change the "Who has access" settings to "Public on the web" or "Anyone with the link."
  2.  While viewing the list of files in My Drive, select the file you'd like to share then click on the Share iconShare icon to open the file's "Share with others" settings and share the file with other people or change its access settings.
Springshare's information on Accessibility in Libguides - - MHC Accessibility Barriers Form