With Google Drive, you can share files — like documents, images, and PDFs — without having to email them as attachments. Sharing is as easy as indicating which email addresses or mailing lists should have access to a given file.
Share a file with an email address or mailing list:
In the "Share with others" window that opens, type the email addresses of the people you want to share with in the "People" text box. You can add a single person's email address, multiple individuals' email addresses (just hit the return key after you enter each email address), or a mailing list.
Use the "Can edit" drop-down menu to select the access level you'd like your collaborators to have: "Can edit," "Can comment," or "Can view."
By default "Notify people via email" is checked so anyone you've shared the file or folder with will receive email notification, and you can use the "Add a note" box to include an explanatory note. If you don't wish to send email notification, click Advanced in the bottom right corner and just uncheck the "Notify people" box below their names.
Click on Send (if you're sending email notification) or OK (if you're not sending email notification) to complete sharing the file or folder.
Sharing something with a mailing list?
If you’re sharing with a group containing more than 200 members, either notify the group by email or provide a link to the file. Your fellow mailing list members need to directly click the link, in the email notification or otherwise, for the file to show up in their Drive lists. The file will show up in the "Recent" and "All items" section of Drive for group members.
Share a file with a non-Google Account:
If you want to share a file with someone who uses a non-Google Account, there are a few things to consider:
When you share the file with a non-Google Account, the user you’re sharing with will receive an invitation with a link to open and view it. The user will then be prompted to sign in to, or sign up for, a Google Account to be able to edit the file. Google Docs, Slides and Drawings files can be previewed without the user having to sign-in.
The invitation you send to the non-Google Account is valid for 14 days. Within that time period, the recipient can forward the invitation to other people, who will also be able view the file, and if they sign into a Google Account, edit or comment on it. You’ll be asked to agree to this when you first share the file.
If you re-open the sharing box, you’ll see a icon next to the non-Google Account(s) you’ve shared with, as well as the number of people who have used the invitation to work with the file. Note that users who see a preview of Google Docs, Slides, and Drawings without signing into a Google Account won’t be counted in the sharing box.
If you use Drive at work or school, you can only share files to people without Google Accounts if your administrator has allowed this. Also, those users will need to sign in to a Google Account to view the file, as well as to comment or edit on it.
Send a link to a shared file:
In order to send a link to a shared file, you must turn link sharing on. After having clicked on the document or folder, click the icon in the upper right corner to turn link sharing on OR click on the document or folder If you have turned link sharing onset a file or folder to "Anyone with the link" or "Public on the web," you can send the link to another person and they’ll be able to access it.
In the section under "Link sharing on", you'll see that access is set to "Anyone at Mount Holyoke College with the link can view" (the default). Click on the drop down menu to the right of this status to open a window of "Link sharing" options.
Select your preferences then click on "Copy Link".
Click "Done" and send the link to another person or mailing list in an email or chat.
Send a file as an email attachment:
Google Drive eliminates the need to send files as email attachments, but if you absolutely must, here's how:
Open the file you'd like to share.
Go to the File menu, and select Email as attachment....
Select a file type from the drop-down menu.
Enter the email addresses of the people to whom you'd like to send the file. If you'd like, you can also add a subject and a message.
Click Send. Recipients will receive the file as a downloadable attachment in the format you've selected.
Tips for sharing in Google Drive:
Notify people when you share something:
Whenever you share something with someone, they’ll receive an email notification to let them know they have access and can retrieve what you shared the next time they sign into Google Drive. Prefer not to notify them? Uncheck the "Notify people via email" box.
Add lots of collaborators quickly by sharing with a Google Group:
Rather than type your collaborators’ email addresses one-by-one, add an entire Google Group. Each member of that Google Group will have access to whatever you’ve shared, including people who are added to the group after you’ve shared something. This option isn’t available for mailing lists that aren’t Google Groups.
Share lots of files at once:
If you want to share multiple items with your collaborators, move them into a folder and share the folder with them. Since you’re sharing the folder, that’s their key to access. They’ll be able to access whatever is stored there or lose access if you remove something that they don’t already have access to.