Skip to main content

Geography 105: World Regional Geography FA2017

Locate the Full Text of an Article Found in a Database

 

Clicking the MHLinks button for an article will help you locate the full text.

  • available online: click direct link
  • availble in print: follow link to search catalog, click "call numbers and availability for years available.  Humanities journals: Williston floor 2 1/2, Science journals: Miles-Smith floor 2. 
  • not available at MHC: click "request via Illiad" to have it delivered electronically

Determining if an article is "peer reviewed" or "scholarly"

Scholarly journals are also called academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed journals. They are journals that submit articles to several other scholars, experts, or academics (peers) in the field for review and comment. These reviewers must agree that the article represents properly conducted original research or writing before it can be published.)

What to look for:

  • abstract (descriptive summary)
  • footnotes or bibliographies
  • institutions author(s) are from, ex. universities, research institutions, think tanks 
  • main is to report on original research or experimentation

EXAMPLES OF SCHOLARLY JOURNALS:

American Economic Review

Applied Geography

Archives of Sexual Behavior

JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association

Journal of Theoretical Biology

From Cornell Univeristy: Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Finding the full text of an article from the citation (author, title, etc.)

  • Search for your article in GeoRef or Web of Science (if you don't find it there, try Google Scholar)
  • Use the MHLinks button to locate the full text.    

Requesting a book from another of the 5 colleges

Click on request item in the catalog to have an item sent from  another 5 College library to MHC.  You will get an email when it arrives, pick it up at the MHC circulation desk and return it there when you are done.

Request book from outside the 5 colleges or an article Mount Holyoke doesn't have

From Google Books, Wordcat or the library databases, click the "MH Links" text or  MH Links button  then select "Request document via Illiad".

Springshare's information on Accessibility in Libguides - - MHC Accessibility Barriers Form