History 252: The History of Money (Fitz-Gibbon)

Articles can be found in publications called magazines, journals, periodicals, newspapers and other publications.

These often can be referred to as serials and have a set, regular publishing schedule e.g. daily, weekly, monthly annually, etc.

Articles are good sources for:

• Most recent research or information on a topic
• coverage of a very narrow topic
• coverage of current events
• contemporary accounts of past events and research

Use a database that covers your subject area to find articles published on your topic.

• use the words AND, OR and NOT to combine words
• put quotation marks around phrases, ex. "civil war"
• use *  as a wildcard to stand in for letters, ex. educat* finds education, educational, education

To narrow your results, use the database tools to limit by

• Peer-reviewed, scholarly articles: articles reviewed and approved by experts in the field before publication
• document type: select or elimitate articles, book chapters, newspaper articles, dissertations
• date: only see results of articles published within a useful time period

When you find articles you want:

• use  to locate or request the full text
• select the results that are useful and save, email, print, or export them

Suggested databases to search for scholarly articles on your topic:

Art Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984. Coverage includes fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture

Bibliography of British and Irish History 
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

Econlit (1969 - present)
A comprehensive index of more than 550 journals as well as essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. The database covers subjects from accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, planning, and more. Updated monthly.​

Historical Abstracts
Indexes and provides abstracts for articles on the history of the world (other than the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

International Bibliography of Art
International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Includes abstracts and indexes (1945-) for books, articles, proceedings, and catalogues.

PAIS International/Public Affairs Information Service
Public policy and foreign policy literature index (1915-present)

Web of Knowledge Citation Indexes
Indexes more than 5,800 social science and science journals. Indexes articles, chapters in books, and book reviews.

Suggested databases to locate primary source materials for your topic:

Historical Newspapers: Full-text collection of major newspapers dating back to the nineteenth century. Newspapers include: The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times.

Economist Archive (1843-2009)

Illustrated London News (1842-2003)

London Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)

Sunday London Times (1822-2006)

Making of the Modern World
Books, journals, pamphlets, essays and more that track the development of the modern western world through the lens of trade and wealth.

Poole'sPlus/Nineteenth Century Masterfile
A collection of periodical indexes created in the nineteenth century. Includes: Index to the New York Times (1863-1905); Index to Harper's Magazine (1880-1905); Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906); Stead's Index to Periodical Literature (the "British Poole's") (1890-1902); Index to the New York Daily Tribune 1875-1906; Descriptive catalog of the government publications of the U. S. (1774-1881).

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1892 - 1982)
Provides indexing to older popular magazines published in the United States and Canada.

Clicking the MHLinks button for an article will help you locate the full text.

• available online: click direct link
• availble in print: follow link to search catalog, click "call numbers and availability for years available.  Humanities journals: Williston floor 2 1/2, Science journals: Miles-Smith floor 2. 
• not available at MHC: click "request via Illiad" to have it delivered electronically

• Click on "Call numbers and availability" to see the years available
• Humanities journals are located on Williston 2 1/2, Science journals are in Miles Smith 2