Conference proceedings : Collections of papers presented at an academic conference. Particularly important in Computer Science! Web of Science is a helpful resource for searching conference proceedings. You can use the More Settings menu to limit your search to just Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science.
Preprints : Drafts of scientific articles that have yet to be published in a scientific journal. These give scientists the opportunity to communicate their results more quickly and get feedback. e
arXiv (physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and finance, statistics)
ScienceDirect (1995-present) Covers approximately 1800 journals from Reed-Elsevier Publishing.
Web of Science (1898-present) Covers 5,700 journals in science and over 2,000 in other disciplines. Tip: Use the More Settings menu to limit your search to just the Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science.
PubMed - Comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature (anything that has implications for human medicine) from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Databases covering both academic (including scientific) and popular literature
Academic Search Premiere - Provides multidisciplinary content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 or further for well over one hundred journals, as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,050 titles. Limit your search results' Source Types to Academic Journals to view articles from only popular titles.
Discover Supersearch - Searches the Five College Library Catalog and most of the Mount Holyoke College library's subscription databases simultaneously. Limit your search results' Source Types to Academic Journals to view articles from only popular titles.
For book-length works on science topics, search
Five College Libaries Catalog - Searches the holdings of the all the Five College Libraries. Find something at a library other than Mount Holyoke's? Use the Request Item feature to have it delivered to MHC for you.
WorldCat - Combined catalog of academic and research libraries across the United States as well as some international libraries. Find something not in the Five College Libraries? Use MH Links to request it.