Skip to main content

FYSEM 110: Jack the Ripper and the Making of late-Victorian London

Primary Source Collections

Suggested databases to locate newspaper and magazine articles published in the nineteent century:

Illustrated London News (1842-2003)

London Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)

Sunday London Times (1833-2006)

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals-- Series 1: New Readerships & Series 2: Empire

Poole'sPlus/Nineteenth Century Masterfile
A collection of periodical indexes created in the nineteenth century. Includes: Index to the New York Times (1863-1905); Index to Harper's Magazine (1880-1905); Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906); Stead's Index to Periodical Literature (the "British Poole's") (1890-1902); Index to the New York Daily Tribune 1875-1906; Descriptive catalog of the government publications of the U. S. (1774-1881).
 

Document Collections:

  • Parliamentary Papers   (1801- ) Full text of the complete set of the nineteenth and twentieth century British Parliamentary Papers collection including Hansard Parliamentary Debates. A major source of primary source materials on all aspects of British society and the British Empire.
     
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online  British Politics and Society - Full text collections of major British primary source materials including radical newspapers, British Cabinet Papers, Home Office files. 
     
  • Victorian Web With over 61,000 documents and images, the Victorian Web focuses on the literature, history and culture in the age of Victoria.

     

What are Primary Sources?

Primary sources provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation. 

  • ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS such as diaries, speeches, letters
  • CREATIVE WORKS such as poetry, music, art 
  • RELICS OR ARTIFACTS such as pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings

What about Science?  In the sciences, a primary source is the published result of experimental or observational research.

Springshare's information on Accessibility in Libguides - - MHC Accessibility Barriers Form