FYSEM 110: Late Victorian London (Fitz-Gibbons)

Articles can be found in publications called magazines, journals, periodicals, newspapers and other publications.

These often can be referred to as serials and have a set, regular publishing schedule e.g. daily, weekly, monthly annually, etc.

Articles are good sources for:

• Most recent research or information on a topic
• coverage of a very narrow topic
• coverage of current events
• contemporary accounts of past events and research

• Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward.

• Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window

  Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles and the British Empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to the present.

• Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
  This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text (PDFs) for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

•  

Clicking the MHC Get It button for an article will help you locate the full text.

• available online: click direct link
• availble in print: follow link to search catalog, click "call numbers and availability for years available.  Humanities journals: Williston floor 2 1/2, Science journals: Miles-Smith floor 2. 
• not available at MHC: click "request via Illiad" to have it delivered electronically