Indexes over 3,000 journals and series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, folklore and drama. Also covers relevant books, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Tip: in the Refine Results section of the results page, check the Limit To options "Full Text" and "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" to limit your results to articles that are available online and peer reviewed.
Biographical information, overviews, full-text (online) literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Tip: click on the "Advanced search" link under the search box to get to a search form with a MORE OPTIONS section including a Peer-Reviewed Journals checkbox that will limit your search results to articles from scholarly journals.
A collection of over 350,000 full-text (online) works of English, American, African-American and Canadian poetry, drama and prose from the 8th century to the present, with complementary criticism and reference resources. Tip: to restrict your search to literary criticism, click on the Criticism button above the search box. To limit your search to scholarly articles, select the Peer Reviewed checkbox below the search box.
Multidisciplinary databases that include literature studies content
A combined database made up of many individual resources including the library catalog and the majority of our subject-specific databases. Tip: you can use the Refine Results > Limit To > Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals option to limit your results to just scholarly journals, and Refine Results > Limit To > Full Text Available Online to limit your results to materials you can access online.
Search the library catalog only (enter search terms and then limit) or dozens of databases together. A great place to start your research on almost any topic.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. No need to filter for peer review or full text - the articles and books in this database are all scholarly and available online.
Project MUSE is a digital library of books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. No need to filter for peer review or full text - the articles and books in this database are all scholarly and available online.